Short Screenplay (Final): Deny Death No More

INT. WADE HOME - DAY
Eric having been born with autism retains a child-like innocence. His wife Kathy and sister Janis have sheltered him from anything they deemed damaging that they felt would scar his psyche. The phone rings at the home of Eric and Kathy Wade. Kathy walks to the bedroom to answer the phone expecting grim news and closes the door behind her.
KATHY
Wade residence.
JANIS (V.O.)
Hey sis.
The voice of Janis over the phone is reluctant and sadness can be heard in her tone.
KATHY
Is everything okay?
Janis erupts into tears.
JANIS (V.O.)
Dad passed last night. I’m dealing with the hospital and mortuary stuff now. I’m sorry I can’t be there in person to help you with Eric.
KATHY
That’s fine Janis. I’m so sorry about your dad.
Brief silence passes.
JANIS (V.O.)
My dad was old and I have been ready to accept his death for some time now, but... Eric... He has never been able to understand the concept.
KATHY
I understand Janis. You are such a loving sister to him. I couldn’t have asked for a  better best friend. Let me know if you need anything. I’ll handle telling Eric.
JANIS (V.O.)
I love you sis. Thanks for being so good to my brother.
KATHY
I love you too Janis.
Kathy hangs up the phone and glances to the one door that separates her from her husband. Her hands tremble as she sets the phone down and stands to her feet. Her reluctance enhances her anxiety of the destined and unavoidable conversation she needed to have with her husband. It feels like an eternity before Kathy reaches the door. She reluctantly opens the door as she ponders how she is to break the news to her husband who even though did adult activities such as work and take care of his wife, still retained a child-like innocence when it came to subject matters such as death. She opens the door to see Eric down the hall in the living room sitting in his chair. She approaches her husband slowly as she thinks of his delicate mind and fears how he will take the loss of his father. Eric looks up to meet the eyes of his loving wife.
ERIC
Hi love.
Kathy struggles to hold back tears of her own, not for the loss of Eric’s father but for Eric and the heartache he is going to feel when he finally learns about the concept of death.
KATHY
Maybe you should sit down.
ERIC
I am sitting down. Are you alright?
KATHY
Maybe I should sit down then.
Kathy takes a seat in a chair across from her husband. Eric studies her intently. Always empathic towards others, Eric is concerned for his wife after seeing her behavior.
ERIC
Do you need a glass of water or something?
Kathy cant help but start crying as she sees the child-like innocence in her husband’s eyes.
KATHY
Your father died.
Eric calks his head disturbed at the very words.
KATHY (CONT’D)
I know you may find it hard to understand, but he is gone and you wont be able to talk to him ever again.
Eric fidgets in his chair as he attempts to understand the concept of death.
ERIC
Do you mean my dad went away to another place?
KATHY
Yes Eric, to a far better place. But you just won’t ever see him again or be able to talk to him anymore.
ERIC
He can’t come back even to visit?
Kathy moves from her chair to hold her husband close in her arms.
KATHY
No love... He died. His body will return to the earth and his soul will go home to be with God in Heaven.
ERIC
You know, I’ve been meaning to visit that place. Where is it? I can never seem to find it anywhere on Google maps.
Kathy backs away a short distance and looks deep into those innocent eyes of her husband.
KATHY
Eric, it’s a place that dead people go to. It’s not on this planet. It can’t be found on any maps, and we can’t visit it.
ERIC
Why not? Does it cost too much?
Kathy stands up in frustration and paces the floor in front of her husband.
KATHY
Eric, I love you.
ERIC
I love you too, but I think I should go visit my dad.
Kathy looses her temper.
KATHY
You can’t. He is dead. His body is going to rot and decay into dust and maggots just like everyone else who dies. You need to understand what death is Eric. I know you find it hard to do so but you need to.
Eric stands up and embraces his loving wife.
ERIC
I do understand it Kathy. I just don’t like it, so I deny it. The very concept of death disturbs me so I practice denying it even exists, but I know better. I’m sorry if you are hurt by this. I won’t deny it anymore.
Kathy pulls back and looks at her husband again with a look of utter amazement.
KATHY
All along Janis and I thought that we were protecting your innocence by talking to you like you did not understand things as we do. But that’s not the case is it?
ERIC
Don’t be silly. I’m a grown man. I understand a lot more than you realize. I just deal with it differently.
Kathy hugs Eric tightly.
FADE OUT.